Weather Alert:


The Western Massachusetts Region Homeland Security Advisory Council (WRHSAC) is a seventeen member, volunteer Council charged by the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security to administer and coordinate the State Homeland Security Grant for the four counties of Western Massachusetts: Berkshire, Franklin, Hampshire and Hampden. Funded activities are regional in scope and build and enhance capabilities that enable the region to prevent, protect against, mitigate, respond to, and recover from the threats and hazards that pose the greatest risks.

The WRHSAC focuses on seven major areas:

  • Improve Interoperability & Information Sharing
  • Mass Care and Sheltering
  • Emergency Response and Recovery Planning and Preparedness
  • Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear and Explosive preparedness
  • Plan Regionally to Protect Critical Infrastructure and Key Assets
  • Training First Responders and Local Officials
  • Multi-jurisdiction Exercises

The members represent the first responder disciplines as identified by the Department of Homeland Security:

  • Law Enforcement
  • Fire Services
  • Public Health
  • Emergency Management
  • Public Safety Communications
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Regional Transit
  • Public Works
  • Hospitals
  • Correctional Services
  • Local Government
  • K-12 Education
  • Higher Education

WRHSAC was formed in 2004, and the Franklin Regional Council of Governments (FRCOG) was appointed as fiduciary. Today, the FRCOG, in partnership with the Metropolitan Area Planning Council, Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission and the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District, serve as a statewide fiduciary to the four Regional Homeland Security Councils of the Commonwealth.

The Council meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 10:00 am.

WRHSAC General Information Overview